Tuesday, November 17, 2020

Sports reporter Kristen Chancellor discusses the AIA and their possible decision to postpone High School Winter sports until January. We also take a look at the undefeated Coconino Panthers and their win last Friday. As well as we take a look at the rivalry game between Coconino and Flagstaf… READ MORE

Tuesday, November 10, 2020

Sports reporter Susie Conran dives into NPA’s 4th championship and how they remained undefeated all season. Next we look at the cross-town rivalry between the Coconino panthers and the Flagstaff Eagles and their last volleyball match up. And finally sports reporter Connor Trett touches base … READ MORE

Wednesday, November 04, 2020

Tonight sports reporter Jasmine Navarrete caught up with the Flagstaff football team. Senior quarterback Morgan Bewley and senior wide receiver Ryan Tagle’s chemistry is leading the team. Even though the Eagles have dropped two games in a row they are still contenders for region title. With … READ MORE

Tuesday, November 03, 2020
Thursday, October 29, 2020

Coconino High School football is is taking a strong lead in their region this year, with a clean record of 4-0. They hope to win the next three games to keep their winning streak. They are keeping a positive and confident outlook as they continue with heir season. READ MORE

Tuesday, October 27, 2020
Thursday, October 22, 2020
Wednesday, October 21, 2020
Friday, October 16, 2020
Thursday, October 15, 2020
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Wednesday, October 07, 2020

Tonight’s sports segment was a little different. In honor of Hispanic Heritage Month, sports reporter Jasmine Navarrete reached out to local high school athletes who embrace their cultural roots. These young athletes share their appreciation for their native language Spanish and the sense of… READ MORE

Tuesday, October 06, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020

NAZ Today highlights a high school athlete that shows excellence on the field. Because high school sports aren't kicking in till next week, NAZ Today's Mitchell McKenzie previews the Coconino Panthers Football team and how they play football during a global pandemic as our first team of the week READ MORE

Tuesday, September 29, 2020

Flagstaff Unified School Distract postponed their athletics last week while Northland Preparatory Academy did not. As well as cross country and football are back this week. Sports Reporter Kristen Chancellor got the details from NPA Head Coach Erik Carrillo and Flagstaff High School’s Senior… READ MORE

Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020

Local high school sports are preparing for their upcoming season. Sports reporter Jasmine Navarrete caught up with Coconino Panthers' head coach, Mike Lapsley and Flagstaff Eagles' head coach, Todd Hanley. With COVID in the mix, the coaches are keeping their players centered on their goals. … READ MORE

Tuesday, September 15, 2020

High school sports in Flagstaff are having to make some major adjustments in a COVID-19 world. Flagstaff and Coconino high school are preparing for their fall sports season, while NAU and all other Big Sky Conference schools will not have any sports this fall, with all will be pushed to the spring. READ MORE

Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Thursday, March 05, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Wednesday, February 19, 2020

Every Wednesday we highlight a high school athlete that has shown excellence on and off the court. Sports reporter Mitchell McKenzie went over to Coconino High School to highlight girls basketball star, Kiana Manuelito. READ MORE

Wednesday, February 12, 2020
Monday, November 18, 2019

NAZ Today's sports reporter Jasmine Navarrete takes us to the court where we take a look at Flagstaff High's Girls Volleyball season. Flagstaff High was on a short-lived high in the playoffs until this past Saturday's game where they were defeated. READ MORE

Thursday, April 11, 2019
Wednesday, April 03, 2019

Athlete of the Week Casey Auza is a senior at Northland Preparatory Academy. NAZ Today Reporter, Raj Gagliardi, reports Auza says she has been exposed to softball since she was a child. READ MORE

Wednesday, March 06, 2019

This week's standout athlete is Coconino High School's Kyle Casados. The junior is a varsity player for both the football and baseball teams, but says baseball is the sport he is most passionate about. READ MORE

Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Saturday, December 08, 2018
Thursday, December 06, 2018

The Pepsi Holiday Tournament of the 2018 season kicked off tonight at Sinagua Middle School and the lady Coconino Panthers took on the lady Poston Butte Broncos from San Tan Valley in the first round. READ MORE

Wednesday, December 05, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018

This week NAZ Today has its first homeschooled athlete of the week. Cameron Toothaker-Lopez may not be a student at Coconino High School but he is allowed to compete for them and he is making his presence known on the cross country team. Toothaker-Lopez has been running all his life and made… READ MORE

Wednesday, November 07, 2018

This week's athlete is a cross country runner that just had a big win at sectionals and is headed for state. Hana Hall, a member of the Flagstaff High School cross country team, is a force to be reckoned with on the trails. READ MORE

Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Thursday, October 18, 2018

Flagstaff girls volleyball might have lost their co-captain Tara Brain before the game, but that did not stop them from rolling over Bradshaw Mountain. Gracelyn Nez and Madeline Wilson helped lead the way. Despite losing Brain to an ankle injury in warmups, the Eagles crushed Bradshaw Mountain 3-0. READ MORE

This week's athlete of the week is a star soccer player from Northland Preparatory Academy. Sophomore Ellie Karren made her mark last year when she put up a hat trick in the state championship game. That achievement earned the then freshman recognition as the star offensive athlete of the ga… READ MORE

Thursday, October 11, 2018

The Coconino Volleyball team is expected to play tonight in an away game against Bradshaw Mountain. The Panthers are coming off a tough loss to Prescott but plan to continue play hard on the court. Bree Davis, CHS Volleyball Head Coach, says “Everything we do is a competition and that just s… READ MORE

Gracelyn Nez is this week's athlete of the week. The freshman phenom has impressed coaches and teammates alike. With three more years to go, this player has a lot to offer the Flagstaff High School volleyball team.  READ MORE

Flagstaff Weather Forecast
Follow Us On Facebook
ABOUT NAZ TODAY

NAZ Today is a production of students, faculty, and staff working in the Media Innovation Center at Northern Arizona University’s School of Communication. The school is part of NAU’s College of Social and Behavioral Sciences.